Sanna Kurki-Suonio & Riitta Huttunen: Kainuu

Sanna Kurki-Suonio & Riitta Huttunen: Kainuu

Sanna Kurki-Suonio and Riitta Huttunen have reimagined old rekisongs and broadsheet ballads from Kainuu in a fresh new style. The arrangement is minimalist: just Sanna’s captivating voice and Riitta’s kantele. On one track, the album’s producer and musician, Taito Hoffrén, also contributes vocally.

“Journey into Kainuu’s Songs” is a dive into stories that have lived their own lives, passed from one singer to another over centuries. Sanna was inspired to record these songs after encountering the Kainuu Songbook (2001), edited by Riitta.

This album represents the finest and most touching contemporary folk music rooted in tradition.

The record is the fifth release by the Kuhmo Music Institute. The music project was supported by the Kuhmo Music Institute’s Interreg III A Karelia program-funded project, “Kokko lenti koilta ilmoin.”

Distributed by: Warner Music Finland


Leave a Reply